Have we lost our purpose?

I had this dream and wrote this several months ago. I pray that I never forget the lesson I learned that night.
 
Last night I had an eye opening dream:
In my dream, I knew that Jesus was returning to take us to heaven with in 15 minutes and realized that I had lost my purpose or mission and urgency to share Christ. I had 15 minutes to try to lead my family member to Christ. The realization that if she didn’t accept Christ as her personal savior she would spend eternity in hell is still churning my gut. I pleaded with her, explaining her impending future (she already knows this) yet wanting her to know that fear should not be the reason she accepts Christ. I told her how much God loves her and wants her to be His. Then other people were there, people I knew were not saved. I spent the entire time begging and pleading with them to come to Christ, still unsure of what my family member’s decision was. I still don’t know. I know she was thinking about it and crying, but other than that I was left wondering. The dream ended with Christ’s return and the feeling of being taken up into heaven – which was amazing – and then I woke up.

My gut still churns. Why? Because I have allowed other things in life to get in the way of what is truly important. I have lost focus. I have been more concerned with the temporal than the eternal. Not that I don’t think about the eternal, but it has lost its rightful place on my list of priorities. Finances, housework, husband and children, health, job, school, the economy, the pathetic direction our country is taking, and other various things have taken the majority of my time and thoughts. These are not bad things, I just need to get my priorities in order.

I laid in bed thinking about the urgency that the apostles had to share the gospel. They were convinced that Jesus would return in their lifetime. They devoted their lives to the Great Commission, wishing to reach as many as possible. Thousands were saved.

As individuals and as the church, have we become complacent? We are not guaranteed tomorrow, but don’t we act as though we are? Do we let opportunities to share the gospel slip through the cracks because we are too busy taking care of the non-essentials of life? Are we making the best use of our time? In 1 Corinthians 7:29-31, Paul urges the believers to make the most of their time, because time is short and Jesus will return.
1 Cor 7:29 “What I mean, brothers, is that the time is short. From now on those who have wives should live as if they had none;   who mourn, as if they did not; those who are happy, as if they were not; those who buy something, as if it were not theirs to keep;   who use the things of the world, as if not engrossed in them. For this world in its present form is passing away.”
Paul is not saying here that these things are bad or wrong, just that they should not be our ultimate goals in life.
As a church, what is our ultimate goal? What is our purpose? What does God expect of us, and does it match what we actually do?
As individual Christians, are we spending time spreading the gospel or are we just spreading ourselves too thin with the things of life? What are our priorities? What do we have a sense of urgency about?
Do we have a true desire to see others saved, or do we desire comfort and a lack of possible persecution for our beliefs?

What is your purpose?

4 thoughts on “Have we lost our purpose?

    1. We are all created for a purpose. Our number one purpose is to love God and have a relationship with him. Each Christian is also called to share Christ.

  1. So wonderful to hear of how the Holy Spirit has been working in your life. And a wonderful message to all of us to be about the Lord’s work and serving Him.

    Thank you so much for sharing these feelings and thoughts with all of us.

  2. God created each one of us for a purpose. We are all eternal beings (either Heaven or Hell)and we only have a short time on earth…
    God speaks to us through the Bible…be a doer of the Word not a hearer only…James 1:22

Leave a Reply

