What melts my heart

So often, in the busyness of our days, we overlook small blessings in our lives, the people in our life that make it a joy, and the sacrifices they make on our behalf.

I must say that I am very blessed to have a wonderful husband and very loving and considerate children (I may need this reminder on days they do nothing but fuss with each other 😉 )

So I thought I would share some things that have just melted my heart this week – besides my husbands gorgeous brown eyes 😀

What melts my heart….

My husband patiently and intently listening for literally hours to a small, special needs child who comes from a broken home, as he is working with this little one on a pinewood derby car.

My son using his Christmas gift certificate to buy a surprise for his sister.

My daughter using her Christmas gift certificate to buy something for me.

My daughter, on seeing that I forgot my electric travel blanket, ran outside in negative degree weather (barefoot, I might add) to flag me down before I drove off, and give it to me because she knew I was cold.

Finding out that my husband stayed up every night listening to me breathe during this last bout with pneumonia, because he was afraid he was going to lose me.

It seems that we tend to get frustrated with or easily take those closest to us for granted, when we should be stopping to see the love that is so freely given. It makes me think of our relationship with Christ. How many times do we fail to see the daily provisions, protection and love that pours out on us from above, taking for granted our salvation and the sacrifice he made for us.  When I do stop and meditate on Christ and his love, I stand in awe of his sacrifice and grace.  And yes, my heart melts.

What melts your heart?

One thought on “What melts my heart

Leave a Reply

