Birthday Dinner

The kids’ birthday was spent  not-so quietly at home.

I gave the kids the day off from school, declaring it a national holiday, so they slept in and then spent the day playing with their stacker cups, Wii, and UNO.

I gave the kids a choice of what they wanted for their birthday meal, and they decided on:

and Shannon made her famous homemade guacamole.

After dinner was over, we decided to do gifts before we brought out the cake.

Our gifts had a certain theme to them….. kind of a Discovery Channel theme.

Almost everything had to do with storm chasing or Mythbusters

After a few gifts were opened, the usual tissue paper wars began.  (I usually try to stay out of these and hide behind the camera – it’s much safer that way)

Grandma R called right as they were about to open their gift from her…

While Joel was on the phone with Grandma, Daddy decided to give Shannon a history lesson… something about the presidents, I think?

His history lessons usually end up a bit hilarious and greatly mildly twisted, which is why I’m the one who teaches history. 🙂

After the conversation with Grandma was over, there was still one more gift to open.

A “together” gift.  Can you guess what it was???

Something I said I would never get for my kids…   (Isn’t funny how our minds change?)

If you still can’t tell, I’ll give you a hint:  They used it to call their grandmother back so she could join in on singing Happy Birthday after they blew out their candles.

Shannon had requested a Chocolate Turtle cake from the store, and Joel requested that I make him a French Silk Pie.

After Tim and the kids had devoured some pie and cake, I heard my son state that tomorrow should also be an observed national holiday and they should have the day off school again. He gave some rather interesting arguments, however I don’t think so!

Today it’s back to business as usual. (I hope. 🙂 )

4 thoughts on “Birthday Dinner

  1. Looks, like you guys had a great time. 🙂
    .. .. my parents we’re the same when I got my cell phone.. but I got mine by accident. Truly, Truly 🙂
    Hope they had great Birthday! Tell them Dean and I said HI ……and Tim too! 😀

    1. I will tell them.
      I had originally told the kids that when they started driving they could get one, but since we don’t have a home phone, and we go to alot of state meeting where we are separated, I thought it would be a good idea. They were thrilled!

Leave a Reply

