An Early Christmas Gift

While I was up to my elbows in drywall mud last Friday, an early Christmas gift arrived at our house and was promptly delivered to me at the church.

It’s very exciting…..

 

It’s something that I have been wanting to do for a long time, but have suppressed the desire because of discouragement….

 

It’s beautiful (but yes, I understand beauty is in the eye of the beholder)….

 

And I bet you can’t even guess what it is.

 

Give up yet?

 

 

 

Why yes, that is a bass guitar.    Are you suprised?

I had wanted to take up the bass guitar about five years ago, but I allowed myself to be discouraged by someone. That person told me that I would never be able to do it because it would hurt my fingers too much, and that my hands weren’t strong enough.

While I appreciate the person’s concern for my well-being, here is the lesson learned: Don’t allow other people to direct your dreams and goals. Only allow God to do so.

Actually, I have a life-long goal of being able to pick up just about any instrument and have the ability to play it.

Since I refused to let my son take my picture with it (if you remember, I had rolled out of bed and into clothes that day – I hadn’t even bothered to comb my hair, so I was a mess), he did the honors of posing with this beauty.

Can you tell he was having fun?

Now, I just need to learn how to play it. 🙂

 

 

One thought on “An Early Christmas Gift

Leave a Reply

