Oklahoma City – Fun to go, but Oh So Glad to be Home.

Many of you know that Tim and I lived in OKC while we were attending MACU on campus; pre-children.

I have to say that Oklahoma City has been one of my favorite places to live.

There could be some very valid reasons for that.

I think I already mentioned Mardel’s.

But here are more reasons…

My favorite restaurant, Pioneer Pies.  Their French Silk Pie is incredible! (yes, I had a couple of bites)

My favorite ice cream and Tim’s favorite egg nog.  I don’t think anything compares to Braum’s Ice Cream.  (I may have had a few bites of my mother’s Carmel Pecan Sunday 😉 ) We were able to bring two containers home with us.

A Godiva Chocolatier.  Need I say more? I did splurge and get my honey and kids some. (okay, who am I kidding? I was a very bad girl and had a piece of chocolate, too. And yes, I am paying for eating all of the things I shouldn’t have.)

My mother, daughter, and I spent about 5 hours at Macy’s – four of those hours were spent in the shoe department with Shan’s new BFF, Bob – the shoe salesman –  looking for a pair of dress shoes that fit her large feet and weren’t ‘annoying’. Unfortunately, not all shoes come in her size. Poor Bob. We didn’t even make it out into the mall that day. Had we ventured out into the mall area, my sister may have been gifted with a piece of Godiva Chocolate.  Sorry dear, blame Shan’s feet. 😀

Not all of my favorite places have to do with food.

My favorite job was here…

I worked for Weokie Credit Union as a teller. Some of my most memorable work experiences happened here. Most were very good. The exception was being stalked by a weirdo who had a ‘thing’ for Christian girls.

On Sunday, we went to the Shartel Church of God,

which is where Tim and I worshiped, and Tim was employed. It was great to see old friends!

While we were there, we needed to rent a car.  There were seven of us –  the four of us, my parents, and my mother-in-law – and only six could fit (kind of) in Tim’s truck.

I really liked this car!  It was small, peppy, and its gas consumption was almost nil. I didn’t want to return it.

We were all able to stay in one room – a suite – at the hotel.  We had a blast! I am so blessed that we are all so close (relationally, not geographically although that would be nice, too).

My mother-in-law had to fly back  on Monday, my parents flew back home on Tuesday, and we also left out Tuesday afternoon. We didn’t go all the way home due the freezing rain that was going on at home, so we stopped half-way and spent the night.

I really enjoy traveling and visiting places, but you know, there really is no place like home. And I am so glad to be back!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oklahoma City – Fun to go, but Oh So Glad to be Home.

  1. It was the fastest 5 days in history. It was nice to go back to our alma mater, seeing old friends and recalling memories of the time we spent there. That silk pie was the best..

Leave a comment