Merry Christmas!

‘Twas the morning of Christmas, and all through the house

Not a child was stirring… we won’t discuss the mouse.

(oh, yeah, it died of natural causes – even though we DO have 3 cats)

When out of my computer there arose such a clatter,

My hubby jumped out of bed to see what was the matter.

(actually, he told me I was being too loud then went back to bed)

When what to my wondering eyes should appear?

My sister, her husband, and my niece (on skype) so dear.

Actually, it has been kind of unusual for the house to be so quiet so long this morning.  It’s 7:35 a.m., and the kids are still in bed.  Of course, it may have something to do with the fact that we are waiting until after church and dinner to open gifts. Right now I have a (non-mouse eating) kitten on my lap, brisket in the oven – smelling wonderful, and I’m about ready to go put my bread machine to good use.

Last night, after an eventful afternoon of dislocating my knee and choking on tuna (who knew a person could actually choke on tuna?  We won’t discuss how it became dislodged. Suffice it to say I had to make a complete wardrobe change after scaring my family to death), we played a very fun game of Scrabble. This was after Joel completely bankrupted his sister and grandmother at Monopoly.  This Christmas has been such a wonderful time of making memories! The time we spent in Oklahoma City with my parents having our Christmas was so fun. It may not have been on Christmas day, but I am so thankful that we had the time together.  The older I get, the more I realize the importance of slowing down and savoring the time spent with family and the memories that are made (yes, even the tuna incident can be a good memory 😀 ).

I am looking forward to Christmas service this morning, and then the family time we will spend this afternoon.

I pray that each of you has a very Merry Christmas!!!

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

