What are you looking for this week?

This was the question posed to me Thursday evening as a dear friend of mine and I spent some precious time in prayer and fellowship.  She was asking this knowing that Tim and I were headed to our church’s annual national convention.

“What are you looking for this week, and how can I pray for you?”

My answer was almost immediate. “I need a spiritual refreshment and renewal.”

There are times, when in the ‘trenches’ of ministry, a pastor finds themselves thirsty for refreshment for themselves. They spend hours working with hurting families, seeing and standing up to great moral depravity, comforting families who are dealing with desperate illness or grief, fighting the Enemy who is a constant war against God’s people, praying, seeking God’s face, studying to bring the Word to the congregation, putting up with criticism of people who don’t think they are ministering effectively or correctly, facing gossip from disgruntled and jealous people, and the list could go on and on.  Can I just make a strong statement?  Please, please, please pray for your pastors!  The next time you feel the urge to take your pastor to task for something they have done that you don’t feel they did well, pray for them instead. Ask God to uphold them, protect them, guide them, refresh them, and love on them.

I know that there are a couple of people in our congregation who pray for Tim and I daily. What a blessing! I am so thankful for them, and their dedication to pray.

After I stated my need to my friend, I chuckled because I realized the theme for this year’s convention is Permeate, Refresh, and Renew.  God is so good!

God started the refreshment as my friend and I spent an extended amount of time together pouring our hearts out to God, seeking his guidance in the most deep and intimate areas of our lives, and praying for each other. Oh, how I praise God for a friend with whom I can do this! What a precious and rich blessing!

After our time of prayer, I crawled into bed. I was exhausted, but energized and praising God. I went to bed with the song How Great is our God pouring out of my heart.

I woke up the next morning, however singing the phrase “Lord, break my heart for what breaks yours.” from the song In My Own Little World from Matthew West.

So, what am I looking for this week? Spiritual refreshment, renewal, and a broken heart – broken for what breaks my Father’s heart.

What are you looking for this week?

2 thoughts on “What are you looking for this week?

Leave a Reply

