What am I finding?

Daddy commented on my last blog post, “Seek and you will find.”   So, what have I been finding?

I spent all day Saturday in a worship conference for worship leaders. Wow! We had worship. And we started out our worship with, How Great Is Our God.  Not only did we learn how to put creativity in worship, but we studied at length what true worship really is. I just sat there and soaked in all the information (I have pages and pages of notes. 🙂 ), trying to internalize it to a depth that I can take it back to our church. I wish that everyone involved in leading worship from our church could have attended.  We ended the conference with communion. What did I find?

I found true worship. I found a renewed intimacy with God, and a heart tearfully tender toward the greatness and awesomeness of Him.

Sunday morning, we decided to attend an African-American church. Wow! I think we’ve found the church we will be attending each year we come. I wanted my children to experience worship from a different cultural perspective. I also wanted them to experience uninhibited worship. I needed to experience it as well. One of the songs we worshipped with was How Great Is Our God. What did I find?

I found uninhibited worship in spirit and in truth, and it was awesome.  I also felt great, heart-breaking conviction.

Of course, I have also found out a few more, um, practical issues…

Like a 12-year-old little boy should NOT have Mountain Dew and  a large stack of blueberry pancakes smothered in syrup from IHOP at 11:30 p.m., (Yes, we did wait until that late to have supper.)

or he might keep his 3 other 14-year-old partners-in-crime

up until 2:30 ish the next morning giggling, talking, jumping around, and I don’t know what else because I went to bed at 2:00 a.m.

As I am typing, said 12-year-old child is being awakened by my son playing crunchy electric guitar in sleepy boy’s ear to get him out of bed.  I’m thinking it’s really not being appreciated at the moment. 😀

I have also found that I can stay up until 1 – 2 a.m., get up at 4-5 to make breakfast for everyone, and still function the rest of the day… and on a fairly sane level (hush, sister, I can read your mind 😛 ).

I had considered going to a conference this morning, however the freezer in our apartment is not working. So, I will be spending all morning cooking up all the meat I brought so it doesn’t go bad.  This afternoon, I am attending two conferences: Difficult Texts of the Bible, and Social Issues in regard to Doctrine.

Well, I need to get off the computer and figure out what I’m going to do with all the meat.  Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “What am I finding?

Leave a Reply

