Memories

I was 16 and a junior in high school when hubby and I first started dating. Our main ‘date’ was going to the races on Saturday nights. (Our second ‘main date’ was him coming over to my house and talking to my mom all night while I slept on the couch.  Yeah, we were such wild teenagers. 😀 )  I would go over to his house early on Saturdays and he, his mom, and I would load up and go out to the race track. I remember the first time I went the loud noise scared me so bad I jumped into his arms (no really, it did scare me. It wasn’t just an excuse 😉  ).  I’ve never liked loud noises, so it took some time to adjust.

It has been a long, long time since I have been to the races.  Tim has been after me to go with him, so last night we all went to the races as a family.  We went to a track down in Kansas.

See the shirts that the kids have on?  These are the same shirts that Tim and I would wear when went to the races when we were dating. In fact, I have a picture of us in these shirts (or at least one of us), for which I have been searching frantically to show you.  Can’t find it yet, but when I do, I’ll post it.

When I stepped into the gates, so many memories came back of our dating days.  The smells of the racing fuel, dirt flying, the concession stand…  Oh! and the noise! 🙂  It scared me again. 😀  Still don’t like loud noises, but I adjusted fairly quickly.

We had a wonderful time as a family and making new memories. And I really did enjoy the races – much more than I thought I would. 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Memories

Leave a Reply

