Canning

The canning season is upon us. 🙂

Last week I canned several pints of peach butter. I was also going to can some pear butter, but time would not allow. 😦

I may have mentioned that our peppers are doing wonderful.  In two days, I picked 3 1/2 pounds of jalapenos just from 3 plants.

I would typically use some in salsa, but since my tomatoes haven’t ripened yet I decided to just can up the peppers by themselves.

I added in a few hungarian peppers just for the fun of it. 🙂

Just a tidbit of advice…

When directions for canning hot peppers tell you to wear rubber gloves while cutting said peppers, you really, really, really should. (okay, so I didn’t have any gloves and didn’t have time to make an hour trip just to get some.) And when your hubby just happened to mention the day before that he heard because of the heat the fruits this year are sweeter and the peppers are hotter, you should take note. Because when you go to wash your face in the shower afterward, you could end up with a horrible burning sensation on all the areas your hand has touched. And your hand that had touched said peppers can feel like it’s on fire. And driving for 4 hours to your friend’s house can be absolutely miserable.

And you might be inclined to allow your 14-year-old to drive for the last 45 minutes of the trip.

Just sayin’!  (sorry Tim, I know you hate that phrase. 😀 )

(For those of you who are concerned about this, 14-year-olds may drive in Nebraska, and we were logging Driver’s Ed hours.)

I think I’m going to go buy some rubber gloves…

One thought on “Canning

Leave a Reply

