Excitement

Yesterday, we arrived in South Dakota to surprise my daughter’s best friend for her birthday.

We will be here all weekend attending Lifelight, which is the largest outdoor Christian Concert in the US – and it’s free.  It is estimated that 200,000 people will be in attendance.  Here’s the link if you want to check it out… since I can’t insert a link into my text 😦  http://www.lifelight.org/

Last night I was sitting in my friend’s yard swing,

talking with my mom on the phone, when I realized I smelled smoke. I looked around and the air seemed a bit hazy.  Considering the number of fires in Nebraska and South Dakota due to the drought I decided to investigate.

I had my children help me because our friends had left for about an hour to run some errands.

I called them outside to see if I was imagining things. Nope.

Joel then offered to climb to the top of the silo (in flip-flops) to see over the wind break and try to figure out where the smoke was coming from.

All he could see was the direction from where the smoke was coming.  Shan then ran through the wind break and found that the neighbor to the north was burning trash.  Not sure that is the smartest thing to do at this point in a drought, but I was thankful that it wasn’t a field on fire or something more serious.  When our friends got home, we told them about our excitement.  She laughed and said, “Oh, our neighbor must be burning again.”

We ended the evening all watching Mitt Romney’s speech at the RNC.  We had our kids watch with us as it is American History in the making (yes, we all homeschool and will use anything we can for educational purposes 😉 ).  I thought it was an excellent speech.

Tonight is the start of Lifelight. There are more friends coming to join us and will be spending a few nights here as well.  I foresee much laughter, much noise, and little sleep. 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Excitement

Leave a Reply

