Civic Duty

I have received a summons for jury duty.

Some people can go their whole lives without being summoned. Not me.  I think this is the 3rd time I’ve been summoned.  Honestly, I don’t mind.  I have always enjoyed law, and at one point considered being a lawyer. (Don’t laugh! 😛  ) The first time I was summoned, I served on a jury and actually ended up being the foreman. No one else was willing.

Have you ever served on a jury? Was it something you enjoyed, or something you tried to get out of doing? Just curious. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Civic Duty

  1. I was summoned and I was hapy to serve. After they choose me and I was in the jury box and I excused myself to go to the restroom. When I came back I started to go to the jury box again and they told me I had been excused from the jury. I guess the defender thought I would be too strict. I had answered the question’s they asked honestly. It was a murder trial for a little girl killed and sexually abused by a woman and found lying dead by a railroad track. Come to find out the women had killed her husband years earlier (she said self defense). It was a sad situation and I’m now glad I didn’t have to serve because the pictures, the paper said, were very graphic and I know the images would have stayed with me.

    I will always be happy to serve. I believe it would be an honor.

Leave a Reply

