Snuggling in God’s lap.

When I was a little girl I was afraid of storms. Horribly afraid.

I remember every time there was a bad storm I would think there was an impending tornado. The safest and most comforting place for me was snuggled in the lap of one of my parents, with their arms around me.

For me, there is something comforting about a physical touch from someone whom I love or I know loves me.

As adults, many times our ‘storms’ are bigger, scarier, and more painful.

During some of my most painful ‘storms’, God has physically wrapped His arms around me… I’ve physically felt his touch. It’s a comfort at the greatest and deepest level.

Last night, I experienced His touch again. After a couple of months of alternately denying, ignoring, grieving, feeling guilty and confused, facing, and trying to work through the pain of a recent miscarriage, I finally opened myself up to His comfort.

Psalm 34:18 says, “The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” and Psalm 147:3 tells us, “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.”

I was reading those scriptures last night and absorbing the truth and promise these scriptures carry. As I was soaking these scriptures in, I physically felt God lift me into His lap and snuggle and comfort me – just like a parent would a hurting child. Because that’s what I am – His child. Words cannot describe the sense of comfort and peace that brought. I am so thankful for God’s physical touch. So thankful I am His child!

This morning, as I was having my devotional time, I ‘just happened’ to come across this devotional http://www.hutchcraft.com/a-word-with-you/your-relationships/never-too-old-for-his-lap-4331.  Beautiful timing.

2 thoughts on “Snuggling in God’s lap.

Leave a Reply

