The diet is going well.

Just thought I would update you on how the elimination diet is going for everyone here.

It’s going great! My daughter has even admitted that following this isn’t bad.  I’ve tried hard to come up with recipes that would appeal to everyone. And because I have a feeling my mother might be a bit worried about what they will be eating when they come next week, I will let you know some of the menus we’ve been having.

I think my favorite was Sunday’s lunch, which was grilled, marinated salmon with rice fettuccine, carrots and broccoli in a coconut cream sauce, and a green leaf salad with cucumbers, red onions, cilantro with a balsamic vinaigrette. Yum!

We have also had venison roast, fish & chips (tilapia and sweet potato fries), venison/veggie/rice stir-fry, venison steak fajitas with rice and onions on buckwheat tortilla chips.

Tim has also learned how to cook chicken and venison on his own – keeping with the diet even when I am not around. Shan said last night he cooked some venison tenderloin and cut it up and put it in a salad. She said it was very good. That makes me proud! Three years ago, he couldn’t cook anything unless it was a microwave meal or fried eggs. 🙂

Today I am making swai (fish) with quinoa & veggies, and a spinach salad with strawberries, pine nuts, and a balsamic vinaigrette. I don’t know if anyone else in the family has had quinoa before, but I think they will like it.

So, Mama, I really do think you will enjoy. 🙂

Well, I’m off. I need to finish getting ready for a music recital up at the nursing home today.

 

Oh, I almost forgot to add scripture and blessings.

Blessings: My husband. Yeah, I know I’ve said that before, however every time someone talks with me about how horrible their marriage or husband is, I realize how completely blessed I am.  My husband has never laid a hand on me in anger, he has never cheated on me, he has never refused to do anything ie: change diapers, cook, laundry, clean, dishes, run errands, etc, he has always prayed for us, supported us, encouraged us, cares about our well-being and happiness, and he brings a lot of fun and laughter to life. Yes, I am blessed!

Scripture: Genesis 8:18-9:4, Matthew 1:1-11

2 thoughts on “The diet is going well.

  1. Yes, you are blessed and I would come and eat at your house anytime!
    I have an electric Mantis tiller and an old sewing machine you can have if you want to come down and pick them up. They need to be gone before June 28th.

Leave a Reply

