Storms

We had some pretty good storms last night.  I don’t remember them completely because I had taken something to help me sleep. However, I do remember waking up thinking that my leg had been struck by lightning and I thought something had caught on fire. (must have been partly dreaming, but I know the lightning hit close by)

I went out to the garden this morning and it was a mangled mess! The winds must have been quite strong and going in varied directions.  The neighbor’s dog pen had collapsed as well, and the dog was running around this morning.  I tried to put some of the tomatoes to rights, but I will need to do some pruning. I don’t have time right now, and we are to get more storms this afternoon, so I will just wait to see what damage is done today and then go to work on them.

 

Sometimes the storms of life are like that…

The winds of our struggles and suffering can be strong and going in varied directions, and we end up feeling/looking/thinking like a mangled mess.  Our security collapses and we end up running around, unsure of where to go. It is during this time that God does his pruning. He does this so we can produce more fruit – and better fruit.

I was reminded this morning of the scripture in Romans 5:3-5:  Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

May we face our struggles today with grace, perseverance, and character, knowing that our hope is in Jesus Christ.

 

Blessings: My parents. I am thankful for their broad shoulders and listening ears. I love you both so much!

Leave a Reply

