Today

Today I’m not posting pictures of the cruise. Instead I am posting pictures of someone I have been missing very much the past few weeks.

My Grandpa M.

599056_3424971018990_60028705_n

The man who sat me on his lap when I was a child and let me drink his coffee and lick the jelly off of his toast.

The man who made the best pancakes in the world, and let me slather them with as much butter and Karo syrup as I wanted.

The man who said what he meant and meant what he said. He let his yes be yes, and his no be no. And he wasn’t afraid to say no. 😉 He was a bit gruff at times, but I always knew he loved me.

Most of my memories of Grandpa are around the dinner table; not necessarily the eating – although the food was always good, but the conversation.

I miss Thanksgiving dinners at his house. Thanksgiving just isn’t the same anymore.

I miss sitting at his dinning room table on Thanksgiving after dinner and mapping out our shopping strategy for the next day. I don’t ever remember him black Friday shopping, but he sure supplied us with all of the store fliers. 🙂

19335_300308812054_5966187_n

I miss his practical advice and wisdom – even though I didn’t always agree with it.

But most of all, I miss his hugs.

He may not have been perfect, but I sure do miss him.

3 thoughts on “Today

Leave a Reply

