Life can be so entertaining.

Some days more so than others. 🙂

Yesterday was one of those exceptionally entertaining days.

You know it’s going to be one of those entertaining days when you try to use your toothbrush to brush your hair. (Not recommended, by the way.)

I would love to report that trying to brush my hair with a toothbrush was the only mishap, but that would be a bold-faced lie.

I have conveniently forgotten several of the other goofy moments of the day, but suffice it to say that by the time Shan and I left to go grocery shopping, we had decided it would be better if she drove. 🙂

Unfortunately, it was a bit catchy. But by the time Shan joined in, we were enjoying our goofiness. (which may or may not have included sword fighting with rolls of bubble wrap. 😉 ) Actually, Shan’s only goof was that she started putting items into another woman’s cart while talking to her as if she were me.  I think it made the woman’s day. 🙂

Things got really interesting when we decided to get fuel.

Let me back up here.  On the way into town, Shan looked at the fuel gauge and asked if we would make it. I said yes, but we would need to get some as soon as we got to town. I then promptly forgot about needing it. We drove all over town before heading to Wal-Mart to shop. When we got back in the car (I was driving by this point as my brain had decided to reappear in my head somewhere in the store.) I realized we were out of gas – waaaaaaay below empty on the gauge.

I was able to coast most of the way to the gas station, and loudly praised God for getting us there.

I hopped out of the car, hit the ‘pay inside’ button on the pump, selected the fuel, put the nozzle into the car and went to pump. But something went a bit wrong. The hose that attached to the actual gas pump decided to detach. I heard a thud and looked down; on the ground was about 7 feet of hose attached to nothing but the gas nozzle still in my hand. Something about that just didn’t seem right. 😀

What does one do when that happens?

I picked up the end of the hose and carried the whole thing into the gas station, handed it to the girl behind the counter, and informed her something just wasn’t right with the gas pump. The gas station was busy, so I had to pull two rows down and back into the pump area. As soon as I was backed up into the correct position to get fuel, my daughter informed me that the gas tank was on the other side of the car. I popped my head out, and she was right. Rats! So, I pulled forward, swung around, hopped out, pushed pay inside, selected the fuel, and nothing happened. To which my daughter then informed me that this particular pump was a pre-pay. (At this point my eye-sockets were hurting from the amount of eye-rolling aerobics they had performed in the past 5 minutes.)

After the gas station experience, we popped into a pharmacy to pick up some essential oils for a recipe I will share with you in my next post, and then went to the beauty school in town. I was scheduled for a pedicure. I hadn’t had one in a while, and they are super-cheap at a beauty school, so I decided to get one. I also decided that Shan should get one.  Mind you, it was Halloween, so I won’t go into how hard it is to take someone seriously when they are dressed up in footsie pajamas, have a Depends on as a diaper on the outside of their p.j.’s, and a pacifier around their neck. Nor will I go into the possibility that there may two girls named ‘Ketra’ who are attending beauty school, and the one you yell “hello” to in the store-room isn’t the ‘Ketra’ you know, and might look at you like you are a weirdo. Which, ‘weirdo’ did kind of fit me yesterday…  (Note: I found out later last evening that the Ketra I know goes to beauty school in a different town.)

Dear daughter and I were finally able to relax and get our brains back into functioning order while our tootsies were getting pampered. Whilst relaxing, my daughter received a phone call from dear hubby. He tried to call me, but my phone has decided it doesn’t want to ring… again. 😦  Hubby and the church board chairman were in the middle of gluing outdoor carpeting in front of the church and ran out of glue. Could we please go to the local hardware store and pick up some more?

Sure.

Then I looked down. Neither one of us had open-toed shoes. We would not be able to put on shoes or socks for another hour or so without risking ruining our polish.  So into the hardware store I went with beautiful bare feet. Not that it bothers me, I just wasn’t sure if they followed the “no shoes, no shirt, no service” rule. Shan refused to go in and risk it. 🙂

Fortunately, there were no problems. 🙂

I’m hoping for a less “entertaining” day today. Especially since I will be helping set up for our annual Mary Kay Holiday open house. I would hate to drop and break something.

It should be fine though, Shan is coming with me. 😉

 

5 thoughts on “Life can be so entertaining.

  1. Oh, Annie, You lead such an exciting life. You really should write a book . You remind me of Patsy Clairmont and Barbara Johnson rolled into one. Thanks for the entertainment. Love you.

Leave a Reply

