A letter to the Grinch who stole Christmas…

Dear debit card thieving Grinch,

Shame on you for all but wiping out my business account, where I had tucked away the Christmas shopping money! I would say that you should feel ashamed, but obviously someone who doesn’t have enough scruples to leave people’s debit card numbers well enough alone probably wouldn’t feel shame. I will pray that God convicts your heart before you go on to steal larger things.

I do know that you work in a hotel in Kearney, Nebraska, and I’m pretty sure you can be tracked down. But even if the police never find you, God knows who you are and sees what you are doing. You can never hide from Him.

I hope your stay – or your friend’s/family’s stay at a hotel the day before Thanksgiving on my dime was enjoyable.

Sincerely,

A Frustrated Christmas Shopping Mom

Yes, it has happened again. Even though I do not like to give my credit card to hotels when staying – I almost always pay in cash – they either require a credit card number or $100 deposit to stay in a room if paying cash. Typically, I don’t have an extra $100, so I have to give my debit card.  I think I will save up an extra $100 and keep it on hand for times like this. That is the second time in a row that I have stayed at a hotel and an employee of the hotel has used my debit card to try to rent a hotel room. Last time it was in Vegas and it was caught. This time it was in Nebraska and went through. From what I understand, It will take several weeks before I will get my money back. Fortunately, we have several weeks before Christmas.

In other news:

I stated in the previous post that I had been working on a project.  I am helping my dad renovate his church’s rental house. It is a 1930’s craftsman style house.  I love craftsman style homes. 🙂

The people who previously ‘rented’ never paid rent the whole time they were there, and completely trashed it. I mean, COMPLETELY. My nephew has helped quite a bit, as they had considered renting it, but they have made other plans and my dad no longer has help. So far, I have helped put down some sub-flooring, a floating wood floor, and have painted the upstairs hall, stairwell, and living room. Today I will finish painting a faux brick wall in the living room, and some bead board for the dining room.  I left the camera over at the house, so I don’t have any pictures this morning. I will try to post some tonight.

Here are the pics!

This is the front office before we put the flooring down. The front office used to be the front porch.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut and laid the subfloor for the closet. Have I mentioned I love power tools? 🙂

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I started laying the floor.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

but stopped here because I wanted my dad to do the intricate cutting around the closet and door frames.

I then started laying flooring in the entryway.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

But again had my dad cut the pieces for around the doors.

The floors turned out beautiful!

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

The kids and I painted the living room, stairwell, and upstairs hallway. It had been a pumpkin-y goldenrod color, but we painted it a light cream to match the dining room and painted the faux brick wall a laurel green to match the kitchen and the color we are painting the bead board for the dining room. It will all flow together quite nicely.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I won’t discuss how I got to the very top of the stairwell. It may cause my mother-in-law to use my middle name in vain. 😉  Loudly.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

I know you all are jealous of my hairdo.  I worked all night to get it that way. 😀  Everyday dad and I have worked on the house, we roll out of bed between 3:30 to 4:30 a.m., throw on work clothes, and head on over.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

You have no idea how much tossing and turning it takes to get it to stick up so well. 😛

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Daddy is going to put up crown molding so the exposed brick at the top will be covered.

Hopefully we will get the bead board put up before I leave so you can see how well that will look in the dining room.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “A letter to the Grinch who stole Christmas…

Leave a Reply

