Mornings.

One of the benefits I love about homeschooling is that mornings are our own.

I have to be honest and tell you we usually don’t start our mornings until around 9 or 9:30. Okay, For the record, I start mine hours earlier, but the kids usually aren’t up.  Well, let me clarify, my son usually isn’t up.  As most of you know, he just LOOOOVES mornings.  😉   (Yes, that was dripping with sarcasm.)

Yesterday, he only saw about 25 minutes of the morning.  He usually only does that when he’s going through a growth spurt, so I leave him alone. However, I did tell him that I would be waking him up early the next morning.  And I did…

At 8:45 this morning I woke him up with these two songs, loudly. 😀

Then I gave him a cup of coffee. 🙂

No, I don’t think 8:45 is early.  However, I must admit I like the early morning hours by myself to study the Bible and get my mind ready for the day.

Now, lest you are all worried that my children won’t be able to function in life because I let them ‘sleep in’ (an argument I hear from those who don’t approve of homeschooling), they function just fine when they are needed to go to work. They have started working on as ‘as needed’ basis for a local auctioneer and his wife who are a little older and need help clearing out and organizing the items he will be auctioning.

I have thought about loaning them out to a local farmer so they have an appreciation for the hard work and long hours farmers put in. And I think I might know a few farmers. 😉

And on the subject of life and work…

One of my children is also interested in the possibility of becoming a pilot, so I am looking into some learning opportunities there. There is an airport 22 miles away, but I don’t personally know any pilots that fly in and out of there. I do know a pilot in Missouri who trains missionaries to fly in and out of the bush, so that may be a possible contact over the summer.

Well, I need to get going. I have chocolate chip muffins in the oven, need to get a shower, and then go into the office.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mornings.

  1. Annie, I do so enjoy reading your blog. It is 5:00 a.m. and I only get about 4-5 hours of sleep a night. I get up,make me a cup of tea, and turn on the computer. I go to your blog first thing for an inspiration or chuckle or sometimes a tear. I love you all and pray God’s blessings on you every day. Love to all, aunt cindy

    1. Aunt Cindy, I love you too, and really, really, really appreciate your prayers. Sounds like you and I have the same sleep schedule. 😉 Off to go make some tea…

Leave a Reply

