Laziness, Ya’ll, it STILL doesn’t work.

Some of you may remember my post from about this time last year. https://purejoys.wordpress.com/2013/05/27/laziness-yall-it-just-doesnt-work/

Well, laziness still isn’t working out so well.

I was doing well until right after Christmas of last year when I got very sick with the flu and pneumonia.  When I was sick, I didn’t care what foods came into the house, or even what I consumed. I didn’t have the energy to cook, or even suggest what other’s might cook. After I got well, I continued to still not care as much as I should, and started eating a few things I shouldn’t.

Okay, maybe more than a few.

And trying to justify it.

While I may be justified freely through the grace of God, my physical body isn’t interested in my attempts to justify foods it can’t handle.

My justification, aka laziness, has resulted in full-out physical rebellion, retribution, retaliation, or whatever you want to call it.

Right now, my hair is falling out, I have blisters on my scalp, my mouth is raw from the skin peeling off the roof of my mouth, and my teeth, gums, and lips are tingling.  This is from eating gluten and foods I have IgG allergy reactions to. I also have IgE allergic reactions to food, but I am pretty careful with those as they cause mild to moderate anaphylaxis, and I really do enjoy breathing. 😉

I have also become extremely sensitive to chemicals. My face wash and moisturizer, body washes, perfumes, deodorant, cleaning supplies, etc are no longer usable. I am searching out alternatives. Out of necessity, my house will be turning into an ‘all-natural’ zone.  If anyone has recipes for home-made cleaners, shampoo, etc, I would love for you to share them. I have a few, but would like more options. 🙂

Part of my laziness problem has to do with being a people-pleaser. I don’t like to hurt people’s feelings or make people uncomfortable (Unless I’m preaching God’s Word, and then it’s the Holy Spirit doing the job). And, if I may be so honest about myself, I don’t want people to think bad of me.  For some reason, I dislike the thought of people thinking I’m a hypochondriac, wishing for attention, or just a picky eater. I also run into several different scenarios when I explain that I can’t eat something. Some people feel guilty about eating those things in front of me (please don’t, it really doesn’t bother me), some people roll their eyes when they think I’m not looking (doesn’t happen often, but it does happen), and a few people will be rude enough to put the offending food in front of my face and say things like, “Oh, doesn’t this look yummy! Don’t you wish you could eat this?” So, eating whatever is just sometimes easier… at least at that moment.

However, last week I was a speaker at a conference for pastor’s spouses. One of the topics I covered was dealing with expectations. I used Galatians 1:10, ” Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”  This scripture made me think about the times that I worry more about pleasing others than seeking God’s approval. I am not trying to equate eating things to which I am allergic to matters of great spiritual significance, but it is a matter of health, and something I need to pay more attention to.

So, here’s the deal. I have to become less lazy and more bold. I need to stand up for my health’s sake. If one of my children had food allergies or celiac, I would be all over it. Why don’t I do that for myself?

I will be working on getting all of the gluten out of our house, even though I know it may upset a few members of our household. It’s just too difficult and tempting to have it in the house. So, for those of you for whom I bake cookies, when the regular flour runs out, you will be getting gluten-free versions.

I did make a yummy gluten-free, egg free, dairy free, sugar-free, soy free chocolate-cinnamon cake this morning. The kids loved it!

050714101419

For those of you who see me refusing to eat something, please do not be offended or be concerned that I’m falling back to anorexia (I have several accountability partners for that), I am just protecting my health. For those of you who never see me, but see others refusing to eat something that is offered, or asking dozens of questions about what is in the foods being offered, please accept that they are safeguarding their health or the health of their children.  Dealing with Celiac, food allergies, and food/chemical sensitivities is extremely frustrating and difficult, and understanding and support from others is like a breath of fresh air.

Oh, and for the record…  I did discover that caffeine does not have a negative effect on me, so I have been boldly drinking coffee. 😉

I’m off to make some of that coffee now…

 

2 thoughts on “Laziness, Ya’ll, it STILL doesn’t work.

  1. Thanks Andra for the reminder. It is not the same thing but when you are trying to change your style of eating for your health, its hard when someone offers you something and when you refuse they say something like “oh come on it won’t hurt you this once”. For those of us who are overweight and trying to change their lifestyle it is very hard. Especially when you love those cookies or candies being offered. I can only imagine how much it harder it is for you. I will be praying. I’m sorry about the side effects you are having !

    1. You are right, that is difficult. Tim likes for me to try little bites of things that I would really, really like to try, but wouldn’t be good for me in the long run.

Leave a Reply

