Doing what I love – and what I’ve been missing

Baking.

I love to bake cookies, breads, muffins, cakes, and just about anything else that can be put in the oven that makes the house smell wondrous. I also love baking for other people. I used to bake for many people in our community, but that had to go by the wayside.

Since I have completely kicked gluten out of the house, my baking has been severely limited. I have missed the smell of baked goods coming from my oven. There is something very comforting and homey about baked goods, especially as we are going into the fall season.

Good news! Someone came to my rescue.  Someone (I don’t remember who, but I want to thank them from the bottom of my stomach 🙂 ) directed me to this website: http://glutenfreehomemaker.com.  It has been my baking salvation.  The recipes she posts are truly wonderful.  I have baked biscuits, pizza, squash bread, zucchini muffins, and this morning I baked chocolate chip cookie bars.

091914064623

Heavenly!  Enjoy Life brand has allergy-free chocolate chips.  I used coconut sugar instead of granulated white sugar and brown sugar. I did have to use brown rice flour instead of white rice flour, which may have affected the texture a bit, but they are soooooooo good.  Right now I’m downing my second piece with a glass of almond milk. And because God created chocolate and peanut butter to go together, I have spread a little bit of peanut butter on my bar.

This morning, before we go to our meeting in Kearney, I am going to head up to the nursing home and test it on one of my previous baked-good connoisseurs.  If it passes inspection, I think I’ll be able to bake for others again. Joy!

I do not personally know the woman who has the gluten-free homemaker website, but I am thankful for her. and her gluten-free baking talents.

 

2 thoughts on “Doing what I love – and what I’ve been missing

    1. Me too. I did have two people try it. The one said it was good but needed more salt. The other said he could definitely tell it was a gluten-free, allergy free item. So, I guess I will just have to see… I don’t want to give others baked goods that they wouldn’t like – especially since the flours aren’t inexpensive.

Leave a Reply

