On the road to recharging

I am leaving this morning in about an hour (provided my laundry gets dry in time) to head to Omaha for a three-day meeting. I’m looking forward to it, but not necessarily because I like meetings. In fact, I’m ‘meetinged-out’ right now.

Well, let me restate. It’s not that I don’t like meetings; they can be very necessary. However, over the past four to five weeks I have attended more meetings than any one person should have to endure.  😛   Several of them were 4 hour meetings, and I have not had the opportunity to recharge from any of them. This makes for a grumpy, discombobulated me.

Why? Because I’m an introvert. I require about an hour a day of ‘alone time’ to be able to function. (I haven’t been functioning well lately, by the way. 😀 ) Three hours would be wonderful! But I’m married to an extrovert who processes every thought that pops in his mind verbally (and usually requests my presence to process), and doesn’t understand that I have to process every thought that goes through my head, well, in my head. If I don’t process the thought thoroughly in my head first, the outcome isn’t always wondrous, and I end up sounding like a rude, impatient jerk. Not exactly the impression I want to give – especially in ministry.

Many people don’t know that I’m an introvert. I enjoy preaching, teaching, and have learned to enjoy communicating with others in conversation. Consequently, many people are shocked when I explain that I’m really an introvert. Even though I don’t preach every Sunday, after service I am ‘stick a fork in me’ done. I need to go crawl in my hole and recharge. That is why board meetings directly after Sunday morning service, while logical for everyone’s time, aren’t the best option for me.  Being social completely drains introverts.

Thom Rainer has written an excellent blog post on introverts in leadership. You can read it here: http://thomrainer.com/2011/05/12/the_introverted_leader/

So, why am I looking so forward to my three-day meeting?

Because it will take me 5 hours to get there. Five hours of people-free, conversation-free time. Time that I can recharge. Not only that, but I will have evenings to myself. There will be no cats and dogs to demand me get up at 2:30 a.m. to let them out. No one that will be talking non-stop, no one else’s problems to work through. Nothing. I can sit and watch whatever I want on t.v., read till my heart’s content, or just sleep. I can be quiet on my own, and no one will be asking me if something is wrong. It will be quiet. It will be awesome.

Just a note: please don’t misunderstand me, I really do enjoy spending time with my wonderful hubby, it’s just that our forms of mental processing are diametrically opposed to each other.  😀   We have had to learn to respect each other’s way of processing and thinking.  Actually, after almost 24 years of being married, we are still learning. 😉

Now, I must be off! I have 45 minutes to shower, finish packing (again, provided my laundry is dry), and get on the road.

 

Leave a Reply

