Mother/daughter time.

I have to be honest. My daughter and I haven’t gotten a lot of time together here lately. When we have been together, we’ve either been packing or so tired we can’t think straight.

We’ve been in Kearney since Monday at minister’s meetings. We left the meetings around 4:30 yesterday afternoon.

It was time for she and I to finally spend some quality time. We were still both so tired we couldn’t see straight, but we decided to have fun with that. Fortunately, the saleswoman at Christopher and Banks understood. Shan and I tried on several outfits, and decided to take a selfie? usie? wesie? togetherie? I don’t know what they are called, but here ya go.

021715184121

We were planning on sending these pictures to my mother so she could see our outfit and join in the shopping experience. However, you can’t really see the outfit in this picture, so the saleswoman offered to take the picture for us. She really was a sweetie.

021715184211

And then I couldn’t send it to her because my phone died.

Mama, this is the skirt she was telling you about for vacation.

We then went to Maurice’s. This time I just sat in the waiting area as she tried on clothes. And took pictures of her with her phone.

021715193410

She had fun. 🙂

While she was trying on clothes, there was a young woman there who was also trying on items.  She looked at me and said, “I need a mother’s perspective.” and asked me about her outfit. I gave her my “motherly” opinion. She thanked me and said, “I really wish my mother were here with me. I miss her.”

Oh, how I understand! I can’t even tell the number of times that I have asked women my mother’s age for a ‘mother’s perspective’ on what I was trying on. Even in my forties, I still wish my mother were with me when I’m shopping. Besides, she has fabulous taste in clothing and is a lot of fun.

Miss you so much, Mama!

Even though I miss having my mother with me, shopping with my daughter has now become a very special time. Partially because we don’t do it very often, partially because I think she now enjoys clothes shopping, and partially because she and I are able to get away, just the two of us, and goof off.  We haven’t had the time to goof off much lately. I think I should add it into our schedule. 😉

6 thoughts on “Mother/daughter time.

Leave a Reply

