Revelations

No, not that last book in the Bible – that’s Revelation. This week has been a week of several revelations. I will share a few. Some have been known beforehand, but sometimes we need that added ‘aha’ moment to cement what we already know.   For instance, y’all know how much I have struggled with body image and things of that nature. For whatever reason, like many women, I have subconsciously bought into the lie that our culture – even the devil himself – hands out that to be a person of worth or value we must have the perfect body, ie: size 2, have no rolls, no cellulite, no wrinkles, a perfectly shaped bum, etc. Many of you have walked down this road with me. Many of you still walk down this road yourselves. At any rate, this past week I have been frustrated. Since I have hurt my knee I have done nothing but sit. Oh, I’ve still been working, but I’ve been sitting the whole time. And since I’ve been nauseated since I’ve hurt my knee, I’ve been subsisting on salty potato chips and peppermint frappes (yes, sister, I broke down and got one. I know, I know….) because they are the few things that will calm my tummy. Eating junk while maintaining a sedentary lifestyle equals opportunity for expansion. Let’s just say, I’m not happy about it. So, the other day I was getting clean for the day, and Tim walked in the bathroom. We talked for a few minutes while I was finishing up, and suddenly I had a horrid hot flash. I asked hubby if it was hot in the room or just me. He said that it was just me having another hot flash, but that I was, indeed, very hot. 😉  Then it hit me (Again! Yes, I have to keep learning this one.) that my husband doesn’t love me based on what I think my body should look like, he loves me for who I am and he loves the body that I have now. Which makes me love him even more. And for the record…. I may not have buns or abs of steel, but I’m certainly working on arms and pits of steel. 😀

Another revelation… This one was my daughters, and it made me want to hug her. She told me the other morning, “You know, Mom, it’s so much easier to do things when you are up and moving.” I wasn’t sure at first what she was getting at, so I asked her to clarify. She told me that when I am able to do the things I normally do, the house runs smoother because I am able to take on much of the load. The house stays cleaner, the laundry stays fairly kept up, meals get cooked, dishes are done, etc.  Right now, not only are she and Joel trying to pick up my slack, they are having to pack the house as well. I can give direction, but I can’t physically do.  She said, “Basically what I am telling you, is that you are appreciated.”  Aww, sweet girl. Okay, the last revelation I’ll share for the day… Thursday I was putting Bible tabs in a Bible for one of our customers. It’s a service we offer because many of our older customers have a hard time putting them in; once the tabs are on the pages, there is no moving them.  As I was putting the tabs in, an overwhelming love for the Word of God came over me. I realized how much I love the Bible. I mean, I knew I loved God’s Word, but it just hit me like a ton of bricks. Kind of like when you know you love your spouse or kids, but those moments when the thought/emotion of it hits you so hard it knocks the breath out of you.  God gave us His Word as a love letter to us, an instruction manual, as words of warning, as word of encouragement, as words of Salvation and Life. So often we take it for granted. So often we don’t pick it up and read it like we should. We may see it as an inanimate object that’s ‘nice to have around’, but as Hebrews 4:12 tells us, “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”  I love the Word of God. I love it when it encourages, I love it when it warns, and I even love it when it convicts me of thoughts and attitudes that are not pleasing to God. Well, I must get off the computer and get ready for work. I have a feeling today is going to be a great day!

2 thoughts on “Revelations

  1. With such a positive outlook it had to be a great day. Aunt Sandy is going back home after being with us for 5 weeks. She has been such a help in my time of need. I would send her on to you but her grandsons are chomping at the bit to see “swim grandma” It is with a reluctant heart that we release her. Love you and still praying for you. Aunt Cindy

Leave a Reply

