A Welcomed Phone Call

My cell phone rang yesterday morning and an unfamiliar number came up on the caller ID. 

This always makes me wonder, basically because I don’t usually give out my cell phone number unless I feel comfortable with the person.  Also, I have been getting a few unsolicited calls. For example, three days ago I received an automated call telling me that I had won a home security system I had supposedly signed up for.  Hmmm, why would I sign up for a home security system when we rarely lock our doors – even when we go on vacation? (Side note- we are locking more often now. Unfortunately, things are changing in our neighborhood.)

Anyway, I answered, and it was a person I had given my number to… the pottery we worked on last week  had been fired and was ready to be picked up and/or completed.  How exciting! This was enough to make me borrow 2 spoons from the next day, load the kids up in the not-so-trusty van, and head on over to The Factory.

 The Factory is an old Pants Factory that has been turned into a building that houses antiques and collectibles, and other various businesses. It also serves as the Tourist Information Center for Farmington.  (Stop laughing, CC!)

 

            

A couple of ladies in our church have booths here.

 

And it is in this building that we found a little pottery shop where we can either paint pre-made ceramics or sculpt our own creations.

 

       

My daughter and I had decided to paint a pre-made creation. The colors on my daughter’s mug match her vibrant personality, and of course I did a teapot.

 

    

My son decided to do a sculpture, and sculpted the St. Louis Arch.  Stay tuned for his finished results.

 

While Mr. Creative painted his sculpture, my daughter and I perused some of the Christmas items available to glaze. I had thought that I knew what I wanted to do until the resident artist showed me some of the advanced glazes. Now I don’t know what to save my money up for next time. 

We are having a yard sale tomorrow, and I hope to earn enough money to have extra (after I buy a new vacuum – totally different post…. let’s just say I should buy stock in one of the vacuum companies, sigh…) to do something really fun for all of us.

Next time I hope to bring my equally creative husband along.

 So, I have a question for all of you.                                                                                                                                                                  

Do you enjoy creating things with your hands, and if so, what do you like to create?

2 thoughts on “A Welcomed Phone Call

Leave a comment